Calgary Stampede
Calgary Weather
Canada Index
Emblems of Canada
Flags of Canada
Flowers of Canada
Greatest Canadian
Half a Mile of Hell
Kelowna Fire
Last Spike
Maple Syrup
My Alberta
My Calgary
My Canada
My Okotoks
Shane's Train
The official ceremony inaugurating the new Canadian flag was held on Parliament Hill in Ottawa on February 15, 1965, with Governor General Georges Vanier, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson, the members of the Cabinet and thousands of Canadians in attendance.
The Canadian Red Ensign, bearing the Union Jack and the shield of the royal arms of Canada, was lowered and then, at the stroke of noon, the new maple leaf flag was raised. The crowd sang the national anthem O'Canada followed by the royal anthem God Save the Queen.
The following words, spoken on that momentous day by the Honourable Maurice Bourget, Speaker of the Senate, added further symbolic meaning to our flag:
"The flag is the symbol of the nation's unity, for it, beyond any doubt, represents all the citizens of Canada without distinction of race, language, belief or opinion."

At official functions in Canada the federal and the Provincial flags are placed in line according to the date of the entry of the Provinces into Confederation.
The flags would be placed in order:
  • Ontario (1867)
  • Quebec (1867)
  • Nova Scotia (1867)
  • New Brunswick (1867)
  • Manitoba (1870)
  • British Columbia (1871)
  • Prince Edward Island (1873)
  • Saskatchewan (1905)
  • Alberta (1905)
  • Newfoundland (1949)
It is customary to fly as well the flags of the Territories which are placed in alphabetical order, Northwest Territories, Nunavut and Yukon.
The place of honour is always given to the national flag of Canada, which is usually displayed at the extreme left (as seen by the spectators), followed by the flag of the host Province, then the flags of the other Provinces. It is also correct to repeat Canada's flag at the other end.



Nova Scotia

New Brunswick


British Columbia

Prince Edward Island




Northwest Territories